My Fitness Pal

Christmas, 2015, I noticed my jeans were not figure flattering as they once were. My clothes were fitting tighter. I got on the scale, and my weight was not what I expected. I could not understand how this happened. I was eating two meals a day. I skipped breakfast. I ate a salad for lunch, and normally ate something warm for dinner. I worked out twice a week.

A friend told me to try the My Fitness Pal app. This app counts your calories and your nutrients- protein, carbohydrates, fiber, sugar and fat. She helped me understand I need to know what is going in my body, and the importance of having a balanced diet. My Fitness Pal showed me how terrible I was treating my body.  I did not change anything about my diet the first day I used the app. I ate a Newk’s Cobb Salad and a cup of broccoli and cheese soup. This meal was approximately one thousand calories. The next thing I ate was a chicken tender meal from Chick-fil-a. This was approximately 800 calories. I did have small snacks such as fudge and potato chips. I listed every bite I ate on My Fitness Pal. I was completely shocked to discover that I was consuming around 2,500 calories per day. When I looked at the nutrients, I realized the majority of my diet included carbs, sugars, and fats. I was hurting myself, and my diet needed to change.

I researched what a healthy diet looks like. I need to intake about 70 grams of protein per day. I also need to eat five or six times a day. Eat eat eat! Each day,  I consume on average no more than 1200 calories a day. I also add my exercise to My Fitness Pal, which tells me how many calories I burn.

I have lost 12 pounds in a month and a half, and I have lost two inches around my bust, waist and hips. My Fitness Pal holds me accountable and teaches me to treat my body well.

Until next time,

heidicav

My Fitness Pal

Leave a Reply

